Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Roth Award

Award to a USA Nonprofit or Agency for Addressing
Domestic Violence in Disadvantaged Communities

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Mary Byron Project

Deadline Date:

01/31/18 Postmarked


Request a Grant Writer

Award of $10,000 to a USA or territories nonprofit organization or government agency for an outstanding program that addresses domestic violence in underserved communities. To qualify, the program’s main focus must relate to intimate partner violence and the program must have been in operation for at least three years.

The Roth Award has been created specifically for programs that address the needs of underserved populations. These programs provide services to those who are identified as such based on characteristics that include age, race, ethnicity, gender, faith, disabilities, low socio-economic status, non-English speaking, sexual preference, and surprisingly, victims from economically-comfortable suburban areas who traditionally do not know how to avail themselves of services or who are too ashamed to find them. In general, there is a lack of resources for these specific populations, or the individuals have difficulty accessing available resources.

The program should be replicable, or if it is national in scope, the program should have applications for individual communities, regardless of their size or ethnic population.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 177385

Estimated Total Program Funding:


Number of Grants:

One award will be presented annually.

Estimated Size of Grant:


Additional Eligibility Criteria:

The program must be part of a nonprofit 501(c) (3) or government agency.

The nominated program, the agency or organization, the core components and primary innovations of the program being nominated must have been operating for a minimum of three (3) years (established no later than December 31, 2014 for the 2018 award year). The program must be in existence and fully operational when the nomination is made.

Not Eligible:

-Past Celebrating Solutions and Roth Award winners.
-Organizations other than nonprofit or governmental.
-Organizations operating outside the United States or a U.S. territory.
-Basic research.

Pre-Application Information:

There are two stages to the awards process. Stage one requires submission of a nomination form, release, and program outline. If your nomination advances to the second stage, you will be asked to provide additional information and letters of support.

Any staff member, board member, volunteer, or community supporter may nominate an institution for a Celebrating Solutions Award. However, only one contact person should be designated by the institution.

More than one program from an agency may be nominated, but a separate application must be submitted for each.

Nominations must be postmarked by January 31, 2018. Email and fax submissions will not be accepted.

Please note: It is strongly recommended to review nominations by past winners. These are available in PDF format on the RFP URL.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Submit nominations to:

Kathy Paulin
Celebrating Solutions Award
Mary Byron Project, Inc.
10401 Linn Station Road, Suite 116
Louisville, KY 40223

Please direct questions, and requests for information and general suggestions, to: with “Celebrating Solutions Award” in the subject line.

If you are experiencing technical difficulty when downloading the nomination form, please send an email to A copy of the form may be sent to you via fax or postal mail.

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)