Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

ACSA Distinguished Professor Award

Awards to USA and Canada Professors of Architecture
for Exemplary Achievements in Teaching

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA)

Deadline Date:

09/26/18 5:00 PM EDT


Request a Grant Writer

Awards to USA and Canada professors of architecture at member schools for continued achievement in architectural education. Funding is intended to honor professors who have achieved innovative accomplishments in the advancement of architectural education and who have inspired students over an extended period of time. There are three categories of the award: teaching; design, scholarship, and research; and service.

Candidates in the area of teaching shall have had a positive, stimulating, and nurturing influence upon students over an extended period of time and/or teaching which inspired a generation of students who themselves have contributed to the advancement of architecture.

Candidates in the areas of design, scholarship, or research shall have produced a body of work that provides significant insight into the understanding and advancement of architecture and architectural education.

Candidates in the area of service shall have significant impact fostering and sustaining excellent teaching and a healthy environment for learning and/or instituted measures leading to an understanding and appreciation of architectural education in the community at large.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 160153

Number of Grants:

The ACSA Awards Committee shall recommend to the ACSA Board for approval no more than five individuals for this award per year.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Full-time faculty members or persons whose activities have clearly been identified with architectural education in ACSA full-member and candidate-member schools for a minimum of 10 years are eligible. The achievements must have occurred during the period of appointment. No postmortem awards will be made.

A candidate may be considered for this award and the AIA/ACSA Topaz Medallion simultaneously. In such cases, the nomination must be submitted for each award separately, according to the conditions of required documentation. Any faculty member, administrator, or student at an ACSA full-member and candidate-member school may nominate a candidate for the ACSA Distinguished Professor Award.

Pre-Application Information:

Submission Deadline: September 26, 2018

All materials are to be submitted through the online system by the nominator or nominee. All materials must be submitted by September 26, 2018 at 5:00 pm EDT.

The committee, in any year, may choose not to bestow the Distinguished Professor Award. Nominations for the Distinguished Professor Award will remain active in consideration for three years and suggested updates in subsequent years (specifically the résumé).

ACSA shall present recipients with a certificate during the ACSA Annual Meeting and recipients will have the opportunity to present their work.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Online submission:

Eric W. Ellis, Director of Programs and Operations

Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture
1735 New York Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20006

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon